• Scholarship Program Grows Again; Applications Due Soon

    Posted on February 7th, 2014 John Dorcey No comments

    The WAHF Scholarship Program began in 2002 with a single $1,000 annual award. A second award, the Thiessen Field Scholarship was added in 2005 and, in 2007, the Jerome Ripp Memorial Scholarship increased the program’s awards to three. The Thiessen and Ripp Scholarships each provide an annual $500 award. During October 26, 2013 ceremonies, the organization presented its 26th, 27th and 28th scholarships. The program, during its short 12-year history, has provided $20,000 in awards to 28 students, representing four different schools. In addition to making those awards, WAHF announced that two additional scholarships would begin in 2014.

    2012 WAHF Scholarship Recipients

    2012 WAHF Scholarship Recipients

    The Jeff Baum Scholarship is a $250 award, established by the AvFuel Corporation, which recognizes Baum for his outstanding commitment, leadership and passion for everything aviation. The Baum Scholarship is directed toward those pursuing a career in aviation business management. The $500 Robert Payzer Memorial/EAA Chapter 640 Scholarship began when the Wausau area chapter of the Experimental Aircraft Association elected to recognize former member Robert Payzer. Students in any aviation/aerospace discipline will be considered for the Payzer scholarship.

    2013 Scholarship Recipients Heather Behrent and Rich Conrad

    2013 Scholarship Recipients Heather Behrent and Rich Conrad

    The Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame recently changed its scholarship program to include Wisconsin students enrolled in aviation/aerospace courses of study at colleges and universities located outside the state. The change applies to all of its scholarships, except the Thiessen Field Scholarship, which goes only to students in aviation programs at a Wisconsin technical college.

    The application deadline for all scholarships is March 3, 2014. Additional information and application materials can be found at www.CFONCW.org. Questions regarding Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame scholarship criteria or application process can be directed to Sue Nelson at the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin office, sue@cfoncw.org or 715-845-9555.

  • WAHF Expands Scholarship Program

    Posted on March 25th, 2013 John Dorcey No comments

    The Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame (WAHF) , as part of its mission, looks to promote aviation education for future generations. One way the organization achieves that mission is through the awarding of scholarships. The program began in 2002 when WAHF presented its first scholarship. Since then the program has literally taken off. Today the organization announced an expansion to the program.

    2012 WAHF Scholarship recipients

    2012 WAHF Scholarship recipients

    Wisconsin residents who are continuing students in a 2 or 4-year accredited aviation or aerospace program are eligible for either the Carl Guell or Jerome Ripp Memorial Scholarships. These awards are based on scholastic achievement and participation in extracurricular activities at school and within the community. The Theissen Field Scholarship is awarded to a student enrolled in an aviation program provided by any of Wisconsin’s Technical Colleges. This award places financial need above scholastic ability.

    Applications for any of the three awards are available through the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin. Look for either the Jerome Theissen Aviation Financial Assistance Fund or Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame Scholarship from the list of awards. Applications must be completed and received by the foundation by April 15. Applicants are asked to attend WAHF’s induction ceremony held annually in Oshkosh, WI during October. Additional details are found in the organization’s press release. Donations to WAHF’s scholarship fund can be made through either the Community Foundation or WAHF.

  • Blackhawk Technical College AMT Program – is it history?

    Posted on November 11th, 2011 John Dorcey No comments

    Blackhawk Technical College (BTC), like many public institutions, is facing financial challenges. The school’s Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) program is being targeted for elimination. BTC President Tom Eckert says that eliminating the 62-year-old program will save the school district $367,000. Eckert claims, “While some graduates of the college’s aviation mechanics program get jobs in the district, many move elsewhere to work.” This reasoning seems even more bizzare when it is understood that many students in the program come from outside the district because of the school’s outstanding reputation. For many graduates it is simply a case of moving back home. It is hard to comprehend that graduates moving away to get a job is the reason for a program’s elimination. Surely many graduates of the school’s 60 other programs move away when they graduate or are offered jobs outside of the district.

    Eckert states that he has no choice but to eliminate the program since state funds have been reduced by 30% and levies are capped. But elimination of the AMT program will not solve the budget shortfall. The $367,000 savings pale in comparison to the $4 million increase in the school’s 2011 budget over 2010. More of President Eckert’s thoughts are included in this article.

    A grassroots effort to save the program is underway. Graduates and supporters of the school’s AMT program suggest an across the board cut impacting all programs rather than elimination of a single program. Letters should be addressed to members of the BTC board. The proposal to elminate the program will be presented to the school’s board for consideration at their November 16 meeting. The board will meet at the school’s Beloit campus Eclipse Center, corner of Henry Avenue and Riverside Street, Beloit, WI. The meeting begins at 6:30 PM.

    Many supporters of the Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame (WAHF) and two of its inductees are BTC graduates. Nine of 17 scholarships presented by WAHF have gone to BTC students.