Below are the most recent stories that have put the Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame and its members In the News.

For even more about the people, events, and happenings, check out our 2006-2008 News Archives and
2001-2005 News Archives 2

September 14, 2010
Dave and Peggy Weiman Earn NASAO Journalism Award
NASAO 2010 Annual Convention
Wichita, Kansas
Midwest Flyer publishers Dave and Peggy Weiman were honored by the National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO) during its annual convention. The couple were presented with NASAO's 2010 National Journalism Award. The award is in recognition of the couple's superior news coverage of aviation issues. This is only the second time the award has been made.

The Weimans have been publishing Midwest Flyer since 1978. The magazine provides aviation news coverage across 11 upper-Midwest states. Al Whitaker, pictured at right with the Weimans, was featured in the magazine's first issue. For more information about Dave and Peggy visit the Midwest Flyer website. Another article on the Weimans and their award is available at the Wisconsin Aviation History blog.

Dave and Peggy Weiman with Al Whitaker
Dave and Peggy Weiman (right and center) with Al Whitaker
(Tom Thomas photo)
May 6, 2010
Fred Beseler receives WAMA Blue Light Award
Wisconsin Aviation Conference
Waukesha, Wisconsin
The WAMA Blue Light Award recognizes excellence in reporting Wisconsin aviation news and information. Fred Beseler has been writing about aviation since 1981 and a contributing editor to Forward in Flight for three years. Beseler has worked for the Trane Company in La Crosse as a writer/editor for more than 35 years. His BA degree in English leads him to share his passion for aviation through his writing.

A private pilot for 32 years, Fred is currently president of EAA Chapter 307 in La Crosse and is building a Pietenpol Air Camper. Fred's first aviation article, published in 1974, appeared in American Aircraft Modeler. Later work has appeared in EAA's Warbirds magazine, Battle of Britain Historical Society's 2001 annual, and WAHF's membership magazine Forward in Flight.

Fred Beseler, 2010 WAMA Blue Light Award recipient
Fred Beseler,
2010 WAMA Blue Light Award recipient
(WAHF photo)
May 5, 2010
Rose Dorcey is 2010 Wisconsin Aviation Person of the Year
Wisconsin Aviation Conference
Waukesha, Wisconsin
WAHF President Rose Dorcey was named Wisconsin Aviation Person of the Year by the Wisconsin Airport Management Association (WAMA) during its annual convention. The convention was the organization's 55th annual meeting. John Reed, WAMA president, made the award presentation. John cited her leadership role in WAHF's  2009 Wisconsin Centennial of Flight project.

In her acceptance speech Rose said, "The plaque may have my name on it, but I will never look at it without thinking of and being grateful for all the people, places, and organizations that supported our efforts."

Rose Dorcey with John Reed, WAMA Presiedent
Rose Dorcey with WAMA President John Reed
(WAHF photo)
December 9, 2009
Tom Poberezny inducted into ICAS Hall of Fame
International Council of Airshows
Las Vegas, Nevada
EAA President Tom Poberezny was inducted into the International Council of Airshows (ICAS) Hall Of Fame during the organization’s banquet in Las Vegas, Nevada. Poberezny was inducted as an air show event organizer, though recognition as a performer would have been just as appropriate.

Poberezny thanked his wife, Sharon, and reminded the audience of the responsibility that those in the air show industry have. “You are the ambassadors of aviation and the aviation community,” he said. “Think about the tens of millions of people you reach and touch who have the dream of flight and are impacted by this three dimensional space we work in. You represent all pilots, all aviation enthusiasts, all who love and participate in aviation.”

Poberezny is best known for his tenure as EAA president. For more than 30 years, he has overseen the growth and maturing of a fly-in convention to the world renown event EAA AirVenture Oshkosh. From sponsorship and programming to marketing and business management, Poberezny has been both a pioneer and industry leader in the air show business.

October 2009
George Cudahy receives Master Pilot Award
FAA Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award
George Cudahy is the most recent WAHF member to be recognized with the Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award. The presentation was part of a ceremony conducted by the Albuquerque Flight Standards District Office.

The FAA's Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award recognizes pilots who have demonstrated professionalism, skill, and aviation expertise by maintaining safe operations for 50 or more years.

Geroge Cudahy, Wright Brothers Master Pilot
George Cudahy, Wright Brothers Master Pilot, and his Cessna 337
(submitted photo)
July 1, 2009
WASP receive Congressional Gold Medal
White House
Washington D.C.
It a much different time and these 1,024 women pilots did a remarkable thing, they flew military aircraft.
The country was at war and these extraordinary women flew, and flew well in spite of what many said. More than 25,000 women pilots applied for admission into the Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASP) program during the early 1940s. Of these, only 1,830 were accepted and 1,024 graduated the rigorous flight training program. At least 24 WASP graduates hailed from Wisconsin, including Jeannette Kapus.

Then, on December 20, 1944, the program was ended and these talented pilots were dismissed with little thanks, no fanfare, and no recognition. It took 65 years and lots of help and support from many sides, but the recognition they earned finally came about. Flanked by several surviving WASP, active USAF pilots, and Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL) President Obama, on July 1, 2009, signed a bill recognizing the WASP for their service to the country.

President Obama signing bill authorizing WASP Congressional Medal
President Obama signs bill recognizing service by 1,024 WASP pilots during World War II
(US Air Force Public Affairs photo)
Search our site

Join us on Facebook and Twitter!
The nomination process for individuals that you consider worthy of induction into the Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame is straightforward and has just one requirement. Individuals wishing to make a nomination must be a member of the organization. Complete the membership application (pdf) to become a member, fulfilling that requirement.The nomination form (pdf) is simply a coversheet for the substantiation materials that you provide. We ask that you provide as much material as possible so that we may give due consideration to your nominee.
Memberships and Merchandise 

Membership dues and merchandise sales contribute to the WAHF operating fund and help spread the word about your organization. WAHF logo merchandise is now available! Join | Shop | Donate

© Wisconsin Aviation Hall of Fame
3980 Sharratt Drive
Oshkosh, WI 54901-1276